Architects’ Year Book Symposium

£39.95 | $55.00
25 x 18 cm | 10 x 7 in
236 ills | 512 pages
ISBN 9781908967190

Editors Trevor Dannatt, Duncan McCorquodale
Eric Parry

In 1944, the publisher Paul Elek approached the well-known architect Jane Drew to edit an Architects’ Year Book. Given free rein during the period between 1945 and the 1960s, ten volumes appeared with generously illustrated articles by leading thinkers, critics and practitioners in the elds of architecture, art and design. Trevor Dannatt, then working for Drew, was involved from the start and became joint editor, and then sole editor with an editorial board consisting of Ove Arup, Jane Drew, Maxwell Fry and Herbert Read. The wide range of authors and work published in the Architects’ Year Book included that by or on Peter and Alison Smithson, Le Corbusier, Erno Gold nger, James Stirling, Naum Gabo and Aldo Van Eyck, amongst many, many others.

The Architects’ Year Book Symposium is a revised and re-edited selection of the most relevant and engaging material featured in the first ten volumes of the Architects’ Year Book. Compiled by Trevor Dannatt and Duncan McCorquodale, with an Introduction by Eric Parry, the Architects’ Year Book Symposium is an essential contribution to the historiography of twentieth-century architecture.